Monday, June 17, 2013

Nepal Constituent Assembly (CA) election date announced for 19 Nov 2013

Government of Nepal announced Constituent Assembly Election date as November 19, 2013 (BS Mungsheer 4, 2070).
See the link here.

KATHMANDU: Putting an end to the long-drawn-out period of uncertainty, the government today decided to hold Constituent Assembly election on November 19.

A Cabinet meeting took a call on the poll date after sorting out all contentious issues related to election laws. The government endorsed the Election to the Constituent Assembly Ordinance and forwarded it to the Office of the President for the seal of approval, said Minister for Information and Communications Madhav Prasad Poudel.

The Election Commission-proposed threshold provision, much-debated by four major forces at their innumerable High Level Political Committee meetings, has been removed, in an apparent bid to appease the fringe parties. The government, however, has upheld EC’s proposal on eligibility criteria for CA candidature. “A person convicted of heinous crime by a court will be disqualified from contesting the election,” Poudel told THT.

He said the government has kept existing provision on inclusiveness intact, exempting any party fielding less than 30 per cent candidates under proportional representation from being inclusive for other than woman category. The Nepali Congress and CPN-UML had been demanding that all the parties, irrespective of their strength, should follow the principle of inclusiveness equally in other categories as well. The government has also cracked the ‘other groups’ conundrum and has put Brahmin, Chhetri, Thakuri, Sanyasi and others who have not been defined in this category.

President Ram Baran Yadav’s press adviser Rajendra Dahal said the Head of State would take a call on the government-forwarded ordinance tomorrow.

Panel to delimit constituencies

KATHMANDU: The government on Thursday formed Constituency Delimitation Commission which will be led by former Supreme Court justice Tahir Ali Ansari. Geographist Netra Dhital, administration expert Madhunidhi Tiwari, Sociologist Dambar Chemjong and Secretary at the Prime Minister’s Office Raju Man Singh Malla are the members. The commission will complete delineation of electoral districts for the 240 first-past-the-post seats within next 30 days.

No comments: