Sunday, April 6, 2008

Historic Constituent Assembly Election in Nepal

Nepali people will go to the polling stations on April 10, 2008 to elect their representatives for the Constituent Assembly first time in history. This assembly will write Nepal's future in the form of constitution within 2 years.

The Government of Nepal's Electoral Constituency Delineation Commission delineated 240 constituencies based on total population, geography and access of the 3913 VDCs and 57 Municipalities in 75 districts.

The distribution of constituencies by district is shown below (first is number of seats, second number is number of districts, the last is total seats):

10 x 1 = 10
9 x 1 = 9
7 x 3 = 21
6 x 9 = 54
5 x 4 = 20
4 x 6 = 24
3 x 14 = 42
2 x 23= 46
1 x 14 = 14
= 240 seats in 75 districts.

This is shown graphically in the map.
There are 14 districts mainly in the north which have only one constituency. District of Kathmandu, which is also capital territory, has, by far, the largest number of constituencies, it has 10. Morang district has 9 constituencies and most of Terai district have more than 3 constituencies.

The voters will be given two ballot papers. In one, they will select the candidate and in the other, they will select the party. The first ballot will elect 240 assembly members from 240 constituencies. The parties, based on the second ballot will elect other set of candidates from various groups of people: Dalits, Janjatis, Madhesis, women and others, considering the country as a whole as a single constituency.

No comments: